Living Our Cause: YMCA Celebrates 128 Years of Service to Dane County

Dane County, WI. - These simple words capture the vision for our YMCA and the passion with which we deliver on our promise to the community... THE Y - WHERE YOUR STORY BEGINS.

YMCA volunteers, community leaders, partner organizations and generous friends who help create opportunities for current and future generations were honored at the YMCA of Dane County's 128th annual meeting on May 15, 2014.

Voted into office that evening were Scott Anderson, State of Wisconsin Investment Board, as the YMCA's Board of Directors board chair for the 2014-2016 term along with newly elected board members, Wes Sparkman (left), Dane County Executive Office; Alison Prange (not pictured), Friends of the Zoo; Joey Connaughty (second from right), Food Fight, Inc.; Sara Jimenez Soffa (second from left), Edgewood College; Charles Tubbs Sr. (right), Dane County Emergency Management/Homeland Security for the 2014-2017 class.

"For 128 years, the YMCA of Dane County has been a way of life for thousands of youth, teens, families and older adults throughout our area. As one association, we are working together to meet the growing needs of the 24 communities that we serve," said Carrie Wall, President & CEO, YMCA of Dane County. "Our annual meeting gives us the opportunity to say thank you to our many supports who work side-by-side with us every day to make sure that everyone, regardless of age, income or background has the opportunity to learn, grow and thrive."

Leading the awards portion of the program outgoing board chair Betsy Huebel along with Carrie Wall recognized Dave Wyeth with the Leadership Award for Youth Development, Chuck Savage with the Leadership Award for Healthy Living, and Dr. Tim Culver with the Leadership Award for Social Responsibility.

To learn more about how you can support the YMCA of Dane County, Inc., please visit here.

To see photos from the event, please visit here.